Growing Design

I found this article from my friends over at FastCo that shares an exhibit of designers work. The show features work from designers that spans from their current work today to when they were first beginning 10 years ago. The article continues by mentioning how most people cringe when they look back at their old work. The author even includes how naive designers frequently use words like “transformative” to describe their work. This really got my attention as I usually explain my work as “transformative design.”

This got me thinking about the work I have in my portfolio from when I was applying to graduate school (like the “Spoon” pictured above) along with the work I am currently doing. I take great pride in the work that I am doing now. Especially, when I reflect on how I am “transforming” the way people work with each other in a professional work environment.

As I grow as a designer, I understand my work will improve, leaving my previous work less impressive. I am okay with this. In fact, if I went ten years and my work was still at the same level of skill, I would be disappointed. I expect my work to evolve with time, experience, and learning and not only am I perfectly okay with that, but I look forward to it. I am excited to see where I will be in 10 years. Maybe I will be at a point where I can look back and think “what was I thinking?,” about the work I am currently doing. If that ends up being the case,  then I like to think I will have moved on to do some pretty amazing stuff.

Leave a Reply

