Cars Aren’t Cool

Above is an image of a 1962 Cadillac Deville Convertible. This has recently become the newest addition to my list of all-time favorites along with the 65′ Riviera and the 56′ Corvette. The Deville just oozes cool with its long lines and subtle fins. One of the many masterpieces created by Bill Mitchell. Unfortunately, the newest generation of teens able to wield a set of keys do not share the same appreciation for automobiles.

When I turned 16 I couldn’t wait to get my own car. Having a car meant having freedom from your parents toting you around. It meant freedom to go anywhere you wanted. It meant you could hang out with your friends if they didn’t live in the neighborhood and now you could drive yourself to school. My first car was an Oldsmobile 88′ much like the one pictured above. It was everything I wanted in my “liberty machine” all wrapped up with grandparents styling and go-to-sleep suspension. It was perfect and it got me where I needed to go, when I wanted to get there, without my parents. But there is an epidemic facing America’s youth. They don’t like cars.

I have no idea how this happened but these folks and these folks and these folks all say the same thing. This issue is so big GM has hired MTV to help them figure out how to make these once lusted after four-wheeled modes of transportation more desirable.

Maybe it’s the fact that a car means oil changes, tires, brake pads, insurance, and $5 a gallon gas. These sources say that what makes the new generation of teens uninterested is the fact that they just don’t seem to need these cars. Kids these days have things like Facebook, Twitter, and Facetime. When I was a teenager and I wanted to hang out with someone, I had to actually hangout in person (analog style). New cars are trying to incorporate new hip technologies to help lure these uninterested kids with app-able infotainment equipment. Vehicles can be equipped with Pandora, Facebook, and will even read you your text messages.

I think this whole thing is really a bunch of nonsense. If kids don’t want to drive then let them keep to themselves and leave my roads less congested. Besides, cars don’t need to be equipped with more things that can distract a driver like managing text messages. If you aren’t interested in driving, then we shouldn’t be putting carrots in front of kids to get them behind the wheel. When they do get behind the wheel they should be focused on exactly what they are doing, driving.

Leave a Reply

